BREAKING NEWS – Roy Hodgson announces England squad and new captain

Oliver Baines Football, Football features Leave a Comment

Today, Roy Hodgson has announced his England squad for the Euro 2016 qualification and there are a few surprises in store.

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Southampton), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Everton)

Midfielders: Jack Colback (Newcastle United), Fabian Delph (Aston Villa), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal) Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Liverpool), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United)

There are England debut call-ups for Calum Chambers, Danny Rose, Jack Colback and Fabian Delph.

A youthful side picked by Hodgson  after their disappointing World Cup campaign in Brazil. It appears that the England manager is going for a fresh tact this time around, with a new era emerging.

These players will hope to feature for England as they play a friendly against Norway at Wembley Stadium on 3 September and the opening match of their Euro 2016 qualifying campaign in Switzerland on 8 September.

It will also be the first time without midfield duo Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard who stepped down from captaincy and both retired this summer.

Vacating the position for someone else to take over.

That player to take the armband has just been confirmed as Wayne Rooney.

Hodgson said he is an “Obvious choice, with the responsibility and Manchester United”.

Rooney will wear the armband for his country and be the man to lead out the Three Lions in the future.