Football Blogging Awards results announced!

Gareth Thomas Football, Football features Leave a Comment

The Football History Boys win "Best New Blog" The Football History Boys win “Best New Blog”

On Thursday 13 November, hundreds of fans, bloggers and journalists headed to Manchester’s National Football Museum to take in the 2014 Football Blogging Awards. The annual event honours football writers from across the globe in 11 different categories meaning 110 sites in total were up for recognition.

The Football Blogging Awards have grown from something small started by founder Anthony Cooper into a massive event that has drawn 60,000 votes. This year over 1000 different websites were nominated from 25 countries across the world and on Thursday a number of international guests flew in to be part of the ceremony. With Sky Sports News host Kate Riley compèring the awards here is the breakdown of some of the major winners:

In the best established blog category there were wins for Football Fan Cast as voted for by the fans and My Old Man Said voted for by the judges. In the best video category, The Redmen TV were the popular fans decision whilst STR Skill School were victorious thanks to the judges. Paddy Power and Unibet saw recognition in the Gambling section whilst The Liver Bird and Yes I Can Explain The Offside Rule were the worthy winners of the ladies category.

Brandish’s football writer Gareth Thomas was at the event representing his website, The Football History Boys in the category of ‘Best New Blog’. Along with his co-founder Ben Jones, the boys were awarded the judges vote by an independent panel, notably for being different to the other websites in the category (with Anfield HQ winning the fans vote). The Football History Boys were honoured to win the award and so why not check them out on Twitter and Facebook and be sure to read their articles because if you like football you should love its history!

A big congratulations to every successful football blogger, even if we haven’t mentioned you! Check out the Football Blogging Awards website here.